Zaffa?

Yshka

Hi everyone,

my friend was asked to do a zaffa for an Egyptian wedding soon. This spiked my curiosity as I am still unfamiliar with zaffa (besides watching videofootage of other dancers) I would like to know what the customs are for this kind of thing. So a few questions to start with here:

First of all, what do you wear for a zaffa? I was scouring the forum earlier tonight for info and read that some use a thobe or galabeya for zaffa instead of bedlah, others wear bedlah. What is the right outfit for such a dance?
Is there a specific way to dance zaffa (movement for instance), specific music (other than using the particular rhythm for zaffa) and is it custom to perform shamadan, or can zaffa be danced without shamadan?

Any other info is welcome too, I'm wanting to get to the bottom of this :lol:.
Thanks!!

PracticalDancer

Caveat: I am not an expert.

That said, the one time I have seen it and the few times I have heard it discussed, a shamadan is in order. And, with the shamadan comes a beledi dress and slow, relaxed moves. (Hey, it's hard to dance with a shamadan on your head. Even if said shamadan is a birthday cake! :lol:)

Regards,

Anala

gisela

Super Moderator
There is something on Bhuz about this. I saw it today. Could be worth to take a look. Someone said that it happens that the couple want a zeffa but not with shamadan because it was old-fashioned. Doesn't have to mean that this is the general opinion though.

Gia al Qamar

Every zaffa that I've done I've balanced shamedan, but you can also lead the procession balancing a tray of candles or even just playing zills (you MUST play the zaffa rhythm on zills!)
Beledi or high end saidi dress are very appropriate...you'll circle the dance floor after leading the newly married couple into their reception...it's a joyous time!!!

Ranya