Post Thanks / Like

Default Buying a video camera: worth it?

For a number of reasons, I feel the need for more feedback than is provided in classes - even with private lessons, I always seem to get a teacher who is a fantastic dancer but gets so carried away with demonstrating that there's not much personal attention. My own practice has some low-tech feedback built in, such as isolations with a book on the head, and the bellydancer's favourite, the dishwash shimmy, but I'm toying with the idea of getting a cheap video camera to record my own practice and critique it. Bearing in mind that I'm an enthusiastic hobbyist at best, not an aspiring professional, what are other people's experiences? Extremely useful? O.K but distracting from developing an internal "feel" for what is going on? Better to spend the money on fixing the bathroom tiles?

If getting a camera seems to be a good idea, any recommendations re make and model?

Thanks for your time!

Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up A couple of suggestions

Hi, indrayu, and welcome to the forum. Alosha and I, as well as other members here, I believe, video tape our practices (although I haven't in several months because I was embarrassed by my weight ). It does prove helpful because you can go back and see what you need to work on, and what you're doing right. If you're brave, you can even post a vlog, either here, or if you're really brave, on YouTube (you can tweak your settings to where only trusted friends who are experienced dancers can view your vids. I'm sure there are plenty here who would be willing to provide honest, genuine feedback).