Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Time spent practising

---
    Last edited by MichelleD; 09-24-2007 at 11:17 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

First, let me say I am an instructor and troupe director as well as performer, so now I dance about four hours a day, seven days a week . When I was an average bellydance student, I would invest about two hours a day to practicing and three hours per week of class time. The answer is obviously going to be different for everyone depending on what level of dancing they're at ie hobbyists, students, troupe members, professionals, etc.

Post Thanks / Like

I try to dance for a couple of hours a day. It's my relaxing time for me. A couple of my children also dance, so more often than not I end up dancing with them too

Post Thanks / Like

Hi,

depends for me what my work schedule is. When I am on contract somewhere I tend to spend a little less time in rehersal because I dance six or seven days a week and need to save my body for show time. During my breaks I tend toward a five day a week plan with two to four hour sessions of practice. It's more important how I spend my time rather than how much time I spend...

Post Thanks / Like

Well lets see, right now I'm doing two hours of practice on Mondays and Fridays as well as the occasional Saturday or Sunday. Wednesday/Thursday anywhere from half an hour to around 45 minutes.
    I probably spend anywhere from another 10 minutes to a few hours per day of what I call "dead time" practice. This includes practicing shimmies, isolations and the like while folding clothes, doing dishes, standing in line at the store, brushing my teeth, all those mindless chores you can pretty much do on auto pilot that we get stuck with every day...you get the idea