Thoughts on developing your own style...

Aniseteph

When did you start to develop your own style?

I don't mean at the level of deciding you prefer e.g. Egyptian to Tribal, or fusions you feel drawn to doing, or inventing your own thing. I mean when you've been studying one style for a while and are trying to stay within it. (this isn't easy to explain :mad:)

I've been learning Egyptian style for about 5 years now and I'm just starting to think about this. Although I've choreographed my own solos for a few years, up till now it's been less about personal style and more about just being able to do it at all, vaguely correctly and without falling over my feet. (OK I wanted to put my personal style into those, and at some level I probably did, but it would not have shown much over the crap dancing :whistle:)

So, I'm wondering if I'm actually on to something here and should be confident about taking it forward... or am I just kidding myself? :confused:

Tell me about your stylistic journeys; :pray: please!

Kharis

Style's always a bit of a moot point as nearly all of us are influenced by some degree by other dancers. And often, our own style is rooted in the parameters of the 'style' of dance itself. So what is style? Putting your own mark on it, I guess. I recall Raqia Hassan telling us at a workshop that she was only there to show us the technical moves, and that we must put our own stamp on it. I wonder just how much of that stamp is open for manipulation or change? It seems that often, dancers get knocked for daring to do this or that, or stepping outside the acceptable envelope.

Then there is the 'style' that seems very samey, and the dancer just sticks to moving the way her body feels comfortable with. Which, I think is what we all do, to be honest.