Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Learning from the videos - is it hopeless?

Hi everyone! I have been intrigued by belly dancing since my first trip to Turkey when I was 13, and I have recently decided to at last go and learn it. My problem is that I am a broke student and I can't afford classes. I have decided to learn from rented dvds, youtube instructions and professional dancers videos, such as Sadie, Mishaal, Rachel Brice, and the ladies form Goddess Dancing. I also loved the snippets of the old Egyptian movies featuring belly dancers from the 40s and 50s.

I realize that it's not the best way to go about learning belly dancing, but I have years of ballroom dancing experience as well as some tai chi and yoga. Would it be still a horrible decision to learn without a live instructor? Should I stop now or it does not matter since I do not plan to ever teach?

thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Whether or not you ever plan to teach isn't really the issue. If your "some" tai chi and yoga has given you the ability to realistically compare what your body is doing and a video you may have a chance - but most beginners are unable to do so (somethimes even when a teacher says "you're doing this, you need to do this" )

The other thing a teacher does for you is sort through the bs. A teacher should be able to distil the essence. Belly dance is more than a bunch of moves and if you are learning via a mix of video it is very likely that you'll miss the important bits that make it "belly dance" rather than jazz or modern or salsa or hula.

Keeping in mind that what you first learn is hardest to unlearn - whether it be lifting your heels to shimmy or believing in one of the modern myths - holding off a few months or even a year may be a good idea.

Post Thanks / Like

I am learning BD through both instructor-led classes as well as DVDs. I'd say - yes, absolutely, you can learn and improve your dance through (some) DVDs.