Level changes

elisemuse

I've been dancing for almost 2 years and I'm doing my first solo, a drum solo. My teacher has been having me choreograph my own drum solo and it's working out very well. I'll be performing at my first hafla (a student hafla) on Friday. I do lots of level changes in my choreography because they sounded right for the piece. My teacher has seen me perform it along with fellow students and a friend who is also a dancer. They all seem to like it and I haven't really received any feedback on the level changes.

1. Any advice on how to execute level changes more effectively?
2. Is there a way I can do them that will not make me look like I am working ahead of my ability? My idea on this is just to not look like I'm about to fall over and to keep my body straight throughout the level change, not leaning forward or sticking my butt out.
3. Can anyone post videos of bad/good level changes? If you aren't comfortable posting videos how about describing bad vs. good level changes you have witnessed?

Last edited:

Kashmir

Make sure your quads are strong. Maybe work on doing just squats with your back against the wall to check alignment.

Also flexible calves are useful because it means you can go down further woth flat feet which is more stable.

Jane

I don't know much about your experience or belly dance style, but her are a few basic things:

-Put one foot slightly in front of the other for better balance.
-Keep your back straight, tailbone pointing to the ground, and your head up, unless you are making a conscious decision not to.
-Engage the core muscles for support. Your body, especially core and legs, needs to be strong to do level changes well.
-Knees stay aligned over toes.
-Do something attractive with your arms.
-Relax your face, so you aren't looking like you are straining.
-Wear a costume that won't inhibit dramatic level changes.
-Level changes should fit within the context of the music.
-They don't have to be done with the entire body.