Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default What Style Am I?

Something I've been wondering about for awhile. I'm self-taught from the show Shimmy on fit tv, and tutorial videos on youtube. I don't really know what style I am, so if anyone thinks they know, I'd love to hear it.

Oh snap. Accidentally posted this in the wrong forum. Could a nice mod please move it for me.
    Last edited by LunaXJJ; 07-27-2010 at 05:38 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Luna!
    It would be a lot easier if you had some video's to show us!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

I would, but I'm very insecure, and very bad at belly dancing as of now. Maybe if I got better, and lost a few pounds first.

Thank you to whomever moved the thread for me.
    Last edited by Shanazel; 07-28-2010 at 04:52 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Luna, For many it takes a while before your style gets clarified. The style depends on what expression you have and how you execute the moves, which moves you choose to use, what kind of music you choose to dance to, what kind of costume etc, It is difficult to spot a cetain cultural expression if the dancer still is struggeling to execute the moves etc. This is just my experience although if you have a teacher who is very specialized in say, egyptian or turkish, naturally you would pick that up in your own expression. IMO it is completely fine for newer dancers to not have a particular style.

btw I moved it, you are welcome
    Perhaps I should have put it in dance styles, but since it is a student question rather than a discussion of styles I put it here. Hope it is ok with you?

Post Thanks / Like

Really, you probably don't have a real "style" as of yet. My guess is that Shimmy probably uses a very Americanized jazz version of cabaret style. But I've only seen it once or twice, so I could be wrong. Look up Jenna and Jillina and see if their styles are in line with what you're doing.