Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default BIG conflict with studio owner

Deleted for privacy reasons- thanks
    Last edited by Gypsy Lilah; 10-27-2010 at 02:10 AM. Reason: Removed identifying information

Post Thanks / Like

First of all, welcome to the forum, Gypsy Lilah, we're very glad to have you here!

Oh, my, what a terrible situation! I don't have any experience as a bellydance teacher, because I'm still a student (recently started my 4th year). However, it does sound like to me that you're a very responsible teacher who cares that her students do well. My teacher is the same way. Last year, she watched a performance of a dancer who had bellydanced for years, and yet couldn't execute proper snake arms (or any other move). A responsible teacher not only makes sure her students are learning the moves properly for the sake of doing them right, she also makes sure they do them the right way so they don't suffer a serious injury. Doing a move wrong can result in injury! Imagine your studio owner trying to teach your students how to do a backbend!

Learning choreo after only 5 weeks of lessons, especially when your students aren't ready, is asking too much of your students. Of course, I wouldn't doubt that some of them may be anxious to start on choreo, and some may even be bored of the drills and repetition. But I can't stress enough how important it is to get those basic moves right, and to layer them properly, before moving on.

Last year, I was given the opportunity to move out of the beginner-immediate class into the regular immediate class. However, I didn't feel ready, because I knew I hadn't gotten the hang of some important moves. I'm very glad of the decision I made to stay back in beginner-immediate.