Weight issues...

Zak

Hello everybody my name is Zak and I have been bellydancing for the past 10 years now and over the years I have gained some weight. Not intentionally but I was in rehab (yes I said rehab) for almost a year, in that almost year period I wasn’t really worried about my weight and as a result I gained 70 unwanted pounds. I recently performed for the first time in a long time and after watching the video the next day I was a little upset about how much weight I have really gained. I have been working on trying to get my body back into better shape but some dancers here where i live think that i should stay the weight im at because bellydancers shouldnt be skinny. Its not about being skinny to me, its about being healthy. I want to be healthy and i know that at my age and height i should be a little lighter lol. I just dont want to upset anyone if i say that i dont want to be heavy/chubby/over-weight whatever the hell you want to call it.

So this made me want to know what other males think and what females think. :think:

Shakti

If you want to loose weight you should. How much is up to you. Your friends wont ever tell you to loose weight. I asked Veena Bidasha how they maintain their weight and they said that the do not eat sugar, follow a healthy low carb diet and do about 2 hours of bhangra a day, (cardio).+ weight training 3 days a week.

It will take some time to rebalance your metabolism- If you were in a substance rehab. Good luck!

Greek Bonfire

Congratulations to you Zak! And if you want to lose weight in order to be healthier, then go for it! You should be happy with your body. Some people are happier when they are heavier, and if they are content with their body image that way, more power to them. But you should do what's best for you and also have the body image you want and for your own self esteem.