Thread: Virtual Lessons

Post Thanks / Like

Default Virtual Lessons

So I found a website that has online ATS classes, so I assume it's just instructional videos or something that you get access too for x-amount of money. Anyways, has anyone ever tried something like this?

I've been dancing for almost two years now doing tribal fusion and egyptian and I'd like to learn ATS but there are no instructors within a convenient driving distance and not many good instructional dvds out there for ATS that I've seen so I'm thinkign this could be good, just wondering if anyone has tried them and what they thought of that learning method...?

Post Thanks / Like

If by ATS you mean Carolena's Fat Chance Bellydance system, then the best video resource for that is the Fat Chance videos. I think they are up to around 7 or 8 dvds now.

Gypsy Caravan does group improv tribal, and they have 8 dvds or so. Black Sheep bellydance has 4 or 5.

That would be pretty much the standard for ITS and group improv tribal. If you are going to learn from videos, I think I would go straight to the source and study with the creators of each format.

What's the website with ATS videos? Maybe the Tribal ladies can watch them and evaluate the content.

Post Thanks / Like

I did suhalia's online classes- currently taking a break from them

Although her style is worlds away from mine, I noticed, and my teacher here noticed, vast improvements in my techinque. There were still kinks to work out, I mean, if you don't have someone watching you when you do it, you can fall into bad habbits/not quite "get" it- BUT I did learn a ton, and even got ahead of my class!! You absoulty have to be motivated to do them, as there is no physical human interaction, I found it hard to always be dilligent in doing them, and that kind of sucked, cause it was a total waste of money.