Thread: Artist arrives

Post Thanks / Like

Default Artist arrives

Hello, everyone. My professional name is Max West and I'm an emerging visual artist. I hope to work at my craft full-time eventually. I have my own comics series (print comics) and I'm also working on my own art books which I hope to put out at least one of by the end of the year.

Hmm, I know what some of you may be thinking after reading the above passage. I'm not a dancer...so why does some artist care about a belly dancing forum?

Actually, I like drawing belly dancers from time-to-time as subject matter. This isn't at all unusual. The French painter Edgar Degas did paint ballet dancers and belly dancers do appear in the works of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres and Eugene Delacroix. Maybe I'll share a few of my sketches from time to time up here. My interest in this forum is learning about belly dance.

I have a personal Wordpress.com blog at The Art of Max West where I post up drawings, mainly of women and of landscapes. My main base of operations is over at Sunnyville Stories - which is the primary weblog of my comics series. FYI, it's a slice-of-life comics series about a small town of anthropomorphic animals and two teenagers living there, Rusty and Sam. On another note, I'm planning to reveal in a future story that Sam is actually a trained belly dancer herself.

Well, that's all there really is to know about me. Hello, everyone.
    Last edited by Max West; 03-25-2011 at 11:22 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Max, anyone with a genuine interest in bellydance is welcome here. We have several members who are not dancers, but love the dance and the music, some are musicians, some photographers and there maybe an artist or 2 as well as folk who just love the dance & cultural aspects.
    ~Mosaic
    Dance is like glitter, it not only colours your life, it makes you sparkle, you find it everywhere and in everything and it's near impossible to get rid of. (unknown)

Post Thanks / Like