Are my Tribal Fusion DVDs for beginners?

moppy

Hi all!

I'm brand new to belly dancing and I have just been bequeathed (not through death, just change of career) some tribal fusion DVDs, listed below.

Has anyone used these? Which ones are suitable for beginners? I am a ballroom dance instructor, so am very conscious about being exposed to technique I'm not ready for. I want to start firmly at the beginning.

Belly Dance Hip Hop Liquid Fusion w/ Anasma
Serpentine Belly dance w/ Rachel Brice
Belly dance Superstars Tribal Fusion Fundamentals

I'm also working with Belly dance basics and beyond w/ Jenna, which I love!!

Thanks, Moppy

Amanda (was Aziyade)

Tribal Fusion is a blend of different dance forms. You really should start with the tribal instructional dvds before you try to move into tribal fusion. It doesn't really work otherwise, and looks very stiff and samey-samey.

The classic standard is Fat Chance Bellydance volume 1. In that you should have the best start to any kind of "fusion" you want to try later. ALL the ladies in those fusion dvds have had years of experience with the other dance forms they are fusing. A proper Oriental class would be your best bet -- because it's easier to learn Oriental and then move into Tribal (in my opinion) because you will have the foundation of what belly dance is all about, musically.

Yame

Rachel Brice's Drills & Yoga DVD is a great beginner tribal fusion DVD. It's the first DVD I ever owned, before I even started taking belly dance classes, and it really helped me get a head start.

goddessyasaman

Hi all!

I'm brand new to belly dancing and I have just been bequeathed (not through death, just change of career) some tribal fusion DVDs, listed below.

Has anyone used these? Which ones are suitable for beginners? I am a ballroom dance instructor, so am very conscious about being exposed to technique I'm not ready for. I want to start firmly at the beginning.

Belly Dance Hip Hop Liquid Fusion w/ Anasma