Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Too skinny for proper belly rolls?

Help! I'm a beginner to belly dance (approx. 4 months in) and I've been working on my belly rolls but I'm curious if perhaps I'm too thin to excute them well? I realize that you have to isolate your muscles, top, middle, bottom and vice versa, but I actually have very toned abs. They're so toned that when I flex the top, you can't help but see the bottom tense and there is really little movement.

In anyone's expert opinion, is it possible to be too toned to make these look good? I look ridiculous! Any feedback would be appreciated

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Nah -- don't worry about your weight

The problem most people have is being able to separate the upper abs from the lower abs. Most people want to think of the abs as one big thing (which they ARE one big group of muscles, but you can focus on one half or the other.)

Instead of focusing on pulling in with the muscles, think of pushing OUT. That's a different exercise and you need to have the control to do both. Think push the top half OUT and then push the bottom half OUT. (Don't worry about looking pot-bellied -- you're only going to stay there for a second.) Then think pull top half IN and pull bottom half IN. And repeat.

A lot of athletes are so used to pulling the abs IN that they forget they can also be pushed OUT.

Try that and see how it goes

Post Thanks / Like

Whew - thank you Aziyade! I know I'm newer to this and everything takes time, but I wasn't sure if it would ever come around for me. I'm not particulary fond of seeing my muscles flex when I do it - I'd rather see a nice slow roll, but I'll keeping working with what I have. Sounds like I just need to keep practicing!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by MALEX View Post