Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Which is better?

I have been taking lessons for about a year now, and plan to continue for another 40 or so
    After class this week, I had this thought; while a foundation (proper execution of movements, positions) is necessary, which is truly the better way to learn to bellydance, by learning move by move, what I'll call 'technique', or by dancing?
    If you have ever had your instructor turn on music and just start moving, using simple dance moves for the students to follow, did you find it more inspiring than when doing technical stuff? I felt lighter on my feet, more in the flow that way, whereas the mechanized step by step portion of class was of course more difficult, resulting in a ridgid movement.
    I do want to learn properly, so I'm happy to have a good instructor, but as a level 2 student I do so little actual dancing.
    I guess I would just like to hear what others think of utilizing the dance to the music method during early level classes.

Post Thanks / Like

I am going to be boring perhaps, and say that a good mix of the two is best.
    Only doing step by step breakdown og movement is not going to make you understand the flow in the dancing. I often have problems with understanding a combination until the music is on and I get to see the bigger picture.

Only dancing freely, improvising or following the teacher, will make you feel the music and flow but might not make you execute the movements correctly. There is a fine line between making distinct movements together so they make a dance (but not just put together on a string, if you know what I mean) and just making ooey gooey torso moves that looks like a big mess

IMO we need both.

Post Thanks / Like