Offensive comments about self taught dancers

LadyFatima

Forgive me, because I'm about to get on my soapbox right now, but I promise to keep my comments lady-like and rated PG. . .

So about half an hour ago, I was online just looking up random articles and websites about belly dancing and what not (because that's what I tend to do at 6am when I'm bored and can't fall back asleep:lol:) and I came across this one blog written a few years ago by an instructor who had been a professional dancer/teacher for about 8 or 9 years.

In her blog, she was basically blasting various apparently "self-taught" belly dancers who had been posting their private videos and performances online.Apparently these young women had at some point, proudly mentioned that they had taught themselves to belly dance without ever taking any formal classes or lessons. What bothered me was that instead of just giving constructive criticism on the technique of the self taught ladies, she gave a score of rude comments about how she just couldn't believe that anyone "could be proud of the fact that they've never taken any formal lessons in belly dancing."

It seemed like everything about these women upset her; their style, technique, choice of costume, everything. Now I've seen some of these self taught dancers and I would personally understand her point of view better if perhaps these women had been performing some sort of dressed up version of a strip tease or burlesque dance, but from what I can tell, there really wasn't anything wrong with the way they danced. . .other than the fact that they had never received any formal training.