How do you start?

farasharaks

I was wondering what is the best way to start performing professionally? Do you put up a website? do you look for gigs in restaurants? I've been dancing for several years, perfecting my technique, doing workshops, performing at local haflas and events, etc. But would like to take it to the next level, and was wondering what do most dancers do? Or how did you market yourself as a professional bellydancer? Thank you!

Samira_dncr

Well, I haven't danced professionally in a long time, so I don't know how much I have to contribute. Probably the thing I hear the most often is to make sure you know that going rates in your area and to not undercut the other professionals. Start high and negotiate down.

Salome

Administrator
If you've got the skillz, the costumes, the music, and the desire :)... You need to get some promotional materials grouped, a business card and a promotional website. Have a short and sweet about you blurb, some pictures and some video clips for potential clients to review. Get that together before you try to get hired somewhere. Restauant work is a common starting place for paid dancing. Also bellygrams... if there is a telegram type service in your area you might check with them.

Yame

Be sure to network with other dancers. A great way to start is by doing gigs together or subbing for more experienced dancers. Sometimes these are dancers you know well, other times these are dancers who just saw you at a hafla or BD event. Be sure to have some business cards that you can hand out to other dancers (or to potential clients) if they ask.

But know your local rates first... set up a chart for how much you will charge for each type of gig based on the local rates. That way whenever someone wants to hire you, you are ready.

I'd tell you to get a website too, except I still don't have a website, myself! :lol:

MissVega