Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Choreo-teaching question.

Since I am new to teaching bellydance I am thinking all the time about various methods and angles to teaching.
    I'd love to hear you thoughts on this subject:

When teaching or learning a piece of the choreography, do you prefer to-

break up the moves and steps first and go through it slowly several times before putting it al together and trying it to music

or

let the students see the piece of choreo and try to follow, and then go back and break it up, going into depth with each movement?

I have had teachers do both of these methods and they both have pros and cons.
    Last night was the first class where I began to teach the choreo and I did some kind of mix between the two. First practicing some of the combos involved and then showing the piece two times, then letting them follow along a few times, and after that we went into details.

I thought it worked quite nicely, I just need to be a bit more sure of myself but that will come in time

Post Thanks / Like

How about showing them the whole choreo at first, when you start teaching it? This way they get the whole picture of the dance and know what they are working towards. And then teach a portion every time, starting right from breaking down the movements and combos.
    Just a thought...

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Safran View Post
    How about showing them the whole choreo at first, when you start teaching it? This way they get the whole picture of the dance and know what they are working towards. And then teach a portion every time, starting right from breaking down the movements and combos.
    Just a thought...
    I agree. I had a teacher who would go through the footsteps first, because she said once you remember the feet, you can add the rest. Just knowing the steps without adding the layers was a very good start.