Here we go again...

Amulya

I posted a picture elsewhere which said:

"I am an artist, this does not mean I work for free, I have bills just like you, thank you" This was a text printed on a shirt and think it was very appropriate for belly dance!

Anyway, I got a response from a beginner dancer:
"somethimes you have to work fro free when you are building up your experience. Unfortunitely art doesn't pay the bills."

I responded:
"I have never done that, it undermines the market and it will later be bad for you when prices have come down in general due to all the free stuff people offer.
Plus it might get very hard to charge more lateron when people know you first did it for free.
I noticed that with belly dance it's not an issue to ask for money and charge the regular fee like everybody does :) if venues don't want to pay, it is not worth it"

This is a person who dances for free everywhere, representing this dance in a wrong way (baby belly dancer, not yet able to execute movements right and does some sort of fusion on top of it)

gisela

Super Moderator
"somethimes you have to work fro free when you are building up your experience. Unfortunitely art doesn't pay the bills."

well being an artist in another area I kind of agree with her that sometimes the "working for free" is the only way (but there can be a reward in there somewhere along the way)... BUT... the point of this picture (I saw it on FB too) was that it sucks that it is like this and to point out to people that it isn't right that artists shouldn't get compensated for their work. So she totally missed the message, me thinks.

Starmouth