making your own

Ahava_Melantha

I was wondering if anyone here has ever decided to make their own?

if you do, have you ever used simlicity/mccalls/butterick pattersn?

of have you used folk wear, patterns of time, madame x patterns? etc?

just out of cureousity.

would love to know how it works.

Ahava, I have tried making costumes using a Simplicity pattern but I wasn't happy with the result.

That's partly because I'm not good at sewing, so my attempt at making the pattern probably didn't turn out quite the way it was supposed to. But it's also because clothes designed for streetwear often don't work well for dancing.

For instance, I made a skirt which looks OK but doesn't have the slinky look of a belly dance skirt. I made a tie top which looks great but there's not enough give to lift my arm in it.

I finally worked out how to make my own skirts, here's a blog post explaining how I do it:
How to Make a Belly Dance Skirt | | Belly Dance BazaarBelly Dance Bazaar

As for tops, I buy t-shirt bras and cover them. By far the best explanation of how to do it is on Shushanna's website:
Shushanna Designs: Bases for Bras

shiradotnet

I was wondering if anyone here has ever decided to make their own?

if you do, have you ever used simplicity/mccalls/butterick patterns?

of have you used folk wear, patterns of time, madame x patterns? etc?

just out of curiosity.

would love to know how it works.

I've made a lot of costume pieces over the years. I've used Folkwear for traditional garments, and it's great for that. For more modern/theatrical garments, I've used Atira's Fashions.

Here's an article on my web site about costume patterns: Sewing Patterns for Making Belly Dance Costumes

Mya

and if you're on FB - there's a group where many of us ladies from OD as well as outsiders are sharing our costuming projects and techniques :)

Shanazel

Oriental Dancer: that's this forum. :D