Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Scripts on Site

  1. #1
    V.I.P. Kashmir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,952
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Scripts on Site

    I've often thought the site is a little less responsive than I'd expect for teh content - but then thought it is probably te database access. However, either today my browser (IE8) came up with a warning that the site is running a script that was taking up a lot of my CPU - in fact it warned something like continuing this script could cause you PC to become unresponsive. I shut everything down so got no more information.

    What could this be?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Mosaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Melbourne Australia, but a Kiwi
    Posts
    8,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I use firefox, but just tried MS explorer & google chrome and no strange scripts are coming up. Seems IE8 & 9 throw script warnings just did a google search and there is a fix at microsoft, or this might be of help
    A script on this page is causing Internet Explorer to run slowly. If it continues to run, your computer may become unresponsive. - Http Client Protocol Issues - Site Home - MSDN Blogs
    ~Mosaic
    Dance is like glitter, it not only colours your life, it makes you sparkle, you find it everywhere and in everything and it's near impossible to get rid of. (unknown)


  3. #3
    V.I.P. Kashmir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,952
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Five million lines of code!! No wonder sometimes it's slow. Hopefully it means there is no real problem - other than poor coding.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Mosaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Melbourne Australia, but a Kiwi
    Posts
    8,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kashmir View Post
    Five million lines of code!! No wonder sometimes it's slow. Hopefully it means there is no real problem - other than poor coding.
    I think it is just IE it is code heavy.
    ~M
    Dance is like glitter, it not only colours your life, it makes you sparkle, you find it everywhere and in everything and it's near impossible to get rid of. (unknown)


  5. #5
    Senior Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    585
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Strange... I'm running IE9, absolutely no problem.

  6. #6
    AFK Moderator ~Diana~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,603
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    IE9 apparenly fixed the coding problem that Ie8 has. IE tends to require much more code to load pages that firefox and chrome do. However I find that IE8 and 9 both run slow on my computer but firefox and chrome as super fast loading at both start up and when in use.

    Now this could also depend on what type of antivirus program you are running as well. Some are highly integrated with IE and install a lot of programs and files that constantly run when you are using IE which drags everything down.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1. Beginning dancer. Knows nothing.
    2. Intermediate dancer. Knows everything. Too good to dance with beginners.
    3. Hotshot dancer. Too good to dance with anyone.
    4. Advanced dancer. Dances everything. Especially with beginners
    .
    ~ Attributed to Dick Crum, a folk dance teacher ~

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •