Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question New Online Teaching Format, Opinions?

Suddenly there are these online workshops/classes popping up that are basically an online video you can purchase for a week or so and then it's gone.

What do you guys think? As a teacher? As a student?

As a teacher, would you rather do this than make a DVD instead? And why?

And students, wouldn't you prefer to have a DVD you can watch at home as often as you want and not worry it will be gone after a week?

Post Thanks / Like

As a teacher it seems like too much work for too little reward.

As a student, I would much rather either do skype (which approximates a live class in a lot of respects) or have the dvd. Live streaming has turned me off a few instructors I've been looking into online classes with because - for example - if I'm sick for a week, I'm out my money. There's much more to it than that but I'd rather just buy a dvd or organise a private lesson (physical or skype) than go with the live streaming model because I won't get my money's worth from it, no matter the cost. Even if it's free I'd still go to vimeo or youtube for lessons because at least I can recap them later on if I need to!
    Last edited by Darshiva; 04-04-2012 at 06:14 AM. Reason: edited for coherence.

Post Thanks / Like

I know I've stated in other threads that I much prefer purchasing the DVD rather than using online classes because my internet is rather unstable and can go down for days at a time. Even when its up, I have periods where it slows down to a crawl or fades in and out all night. I can only do things that use a fair bit of bandwidth between 10PM and 6 AM which are not the optimum times to view and use an on-line dance class. Furthermore, when I have the DVD, I can go back and review it as much as I desire.

Post Thanks / Like