Post Thanks / Like

Default Beginner class from a beginner teacher

Hi all,

I've been asked to do an hour long belly dance lesson for a community charity day, for people who have never done it before. I've been dancing on and off for a few years but am absolutely not anywhere near teaching level and I know it! I'd call myself an early intermediate. I explained to the organisers that I'm not advanced at all but they don't mind - they just want someone who can do an hour long lesson that absolute dead beginners with no experience at all will enjoy.

I'm reluctant because I know how low my level really is, but the organisers are very persistent and keep pointing out that only I will know the true extent (or lack of!) of my prowess! It's for a good cause and they're so persistent I can see myself caving....so....

Can anyone recommend a good track that I could use to put together a very basic choreography over the course of the lesson? Something Middle Eastern that will help people to get a feel of that kind of music, but sequential and catchy enough not to be too challenging to new ears and muscles? In fact, if anyone has an actual choreography that would work that they don't mind my using, I would be very grateful. I am not being paid for this, it is only for charity, and I would give full credit. And if any teachers can give me any hints and tips, please do! I thought I'd go through posture, hip circles, figure eights, hip drops, stepping back and forth, maybe shoulder shimmies, and that's got to be enough for one hour!

Many thanks to all!

Post Thanks / Like

Don't do a choreography!!!

In one hour, with raw beginners, you are lucky to be able to teach them a few moves. They will struggle with that and a choreography will only confuse and frustrate them. It'll be hard enough to teach them a couple of combinations.