Soliciting pre-sewing advice and commentary

Shanazel

I've joined the costume competition on Pattern Review and want to solicit some input from my good sewing pals at OD. The time period is October 1 through October 31 so I have time to consider fabric, decoration, and even make a muslin before being able to make the first cut in the fashion fabric on October 1.

Dance class falls on Halloween this year so we are having a class hafla, giving tme the perfect opportunity to make a new costume in a style I've never used before. I intend to make a full length entari and vest using the following pattern:

Folkwear Pattern #108

When Liz was still with us she posted pictures of her troupe wearing similar costumes and I liked them very much. I want something covered-up and folkloric/fusionist- yea, even unto orientalist- and this suits my fancy.

First caveat: chose fabric colors carefully. I don't like the example on the Folkwear page because seeing the black pants through the white fabric of the entari breaks up the line of the costume.

I also tend to chose black for costumes and it does not show up well against stage backdrops. So- no black, but I'm uncomfortable in light colors, probably a hangover from having been so heavy.

Second caveat: chose fabric textures carefully. I want the entari to slide easily over the full legs of the pants without any static nonsense.

I have a closet full of fabric from which to "shop" and I am leaning toward using part of my rayon challis stash. I like the way it flows, it looks a bit more rustic than chiffons and silks, and (big consideration) it is washable.

Has anyone used this pattern? I read all the comments on Pattern Review but none of those folks planned to dance in the outfit.

AndreaSTL

Just catching this briefly before work, but what a fun pattern! I haven't used it, but I think the challis will be fine. It has body, but it also has enough drape (hand ;)) that there shouldn't be any problems.