Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Sad Problems with teacher, feeling frustrated

Hi there everyone, I've been a long time visitor of these forums but this is my forst post. I'm feel I've become very stuck in dance life and I could really do with some friendly advice. My apologies for what is likely to be a rather long post!!

My dance journey started 3 years ago, although I did dabble a little in various other styles before that I didn't get serious until then. I discovered ATS and fell in love. Where I live, in the back of beyond, there is only one ATS teacher of FCBD format and I have been attending her classes for just over 3 years now. I've been in a beginners class that whole time as she does not offer any other levels.

Lately I've found classes very frustrating, as the classes are drop in every week there are new people and we all go back to basics. Now, I am a firm believer that belly dance is not something that you ever master and that you are constantly learning and growing, however I've been doing the basics for 3 years and I find I learn more in my own at home practice than I do in class. There is also the problem of her not correcting students when they are out of time (which is quite awkward when I'm trying to follow someone!) when they start on the wrong count or just plain do things wrong, and she also teaches some moves wrong. Now, me being a student in her class I would never tell her that she is teaching some things wrong as I wouldn't want to come across as being rude. She's difficult to talk to and often gives the impression she has better things to do, I asked her 3 years ago for a break down of the reverse turn....I'm still waiting for that!!

We talked a while ago about me co-teaching with her as I really want to move my dance life forward but nothing has happened with that. I eventually want to teach and perform, but right now at this stage in my dance life I just want to work on my technique and get better.