Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile A Budding Author

Hi...

As the title says, I'm a budding author trying at this moment to gather some information on belly dancing for a story I'm planning.

I love belly dancing but for me it is only as a spectator. You see, my legs and pelvis were broken in a car accident and I have to get around in a wheelchair or on crutches. It will be a few years yet before the doctors figure that I have stopped growing and can get a hip replacement. By that time I'll be 26 years old -- a little old to start learning, I would think but maybe it would be good therapy to help me get my mobility back.

Anyway, I shall be posting questions in various subject areas in these forums. I hope you all can help me find the answers for what I need.

Thank you kindly and I hope to get to know many of you by-and-by.

Ælfscine

Post Thanks / Like

to the forum. Gosh I am sorry to hear you had such a shocking accident, I wish you well for the future. As for 26 being too old to learn bellydancing, not at all, you are never too old I was 55 when I started, I am now 64. My best friend was about 47, now 55, A good friend & bellydance instructor started when she was 37 she is now 51 & I have a few other friends who started in their 40s & 50s and we are all still dancing, so when you are up & about and ready go for it!
    ~Mosaic
    Dance is like glitter, it not only colours your life, it makes you sparkle, you find it everywhere and in everything and it's near impossible to get rid of. (unknown)

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome. You are never too old to start learning and twenty-six IS NOT OLD!!!! My oldest beginners have been well into their sixties and learned to dance quite well. You can even dance in your wheelchair if you can use your upper body; you wouldn't be the first to have to practice sitting down. You aren't even the first on this forum.

Glad to have you with us.