Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Do you need classes?

I'm new to belly dance so maybe it's a silly question but do you need to attend classes to perform or even get good? I know there are classes around but we only have one vehicle and my husband needs that and we don't have the money for me to attend online classes, so I'm feeling somewhat discouraged.

Post Thanks / Like

If you grew up from birth in a family that belly danced socially - maybe not unless you want to go pro. If you want to learn belly dance with little or no background - yes - at least for a few years then you might (if you have the right skill set) be able to get by with the occasional workshop, private lesson and DVD study. (Frankly online classes are not a real option either unless you have had a real teacher).

Why? Firstly there is so much to learn. I pack in the absolute basics in my Introductory course in 10 hours. An average person probably needs another 50-150 hours to consider moving out of beginner level - and that is with a teacher. Most online or DVD courses are only a few hour in total.

A live teacher should be able to give you feedback on your technique - but also guide your study of what belly dance is (and is not), the beginnings of what various styles are - basically letting you know what you don't know. If you try and do it on your own you simply have not idea what you don't know. (Last night I ran into a ex-student who was talking about someone who had been a student with her and found the next level - ie past the firts 10 hours - hard. The ex-student asked with all honesty - "what else do you need to know?")
    Last edited by Kashmir; 12-14-2012 at 03:13 AM. Reason: spelling

Post Thanks / Like