Tattoo on the stomach... Offensive?

ilovemusic48

So, I'm pretty new to belly dancing, I've only danced for a year. But, I love it, and definitely want to continue as long as I can. I don't plan on being a professional, but I am considering dancing at restaurants/weddings in a few years once I get better. Maybe even teaching. I'm not 100% sure where I'll end up with it, but I don't want to ever stop :) Anyway, I am considering getting a tattoo on my hip bone that would be visible with a bedlah. I wanted to get a phoenix feather with the words "Forever beautiful. Forever free." in Arabic because the phoenix is the symbol of recovery and the words in Arabic because belly dancing is what made me recover from anorexia (which I had for years and almost died from when I was 16 from cardiac arrest, ouch.) But, I don't know if people find visible tattoos offensive or if I'll run into trouble with it. I already have a tattoo on my ankle and on my foot, so I don't want more on my legs. And with my career, I can't have them on my neck/ear/arms, so that really leaves my stomach area. And I'm trying to cover a scar on my hip bone where I carved the word "fat" into :/ (I was a stupid teenager...) Anyone have experience with visible tattoos? Will I be ok getting one there?

Darshiva

If it's good enough for some of the biggest names in bellydance (for example: Michelle Joyce) to have visible tattoos, it's going to be fine for you.

Yes, it will get in the way of jobs - as will being tall, short, fat, thin, curvy, slender, blonde, brunette, red haired, tan, pale... I think you get the idea. Every client has their own idea of what a bellydancer should be and no one dancer can meet every client's criteria. So don't worry about it. Get the tattoo. Just get it proofread by someone actually fluent in arabic first.

Mosaic

Super Moderator