Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Charging people to practice with you? Hmmmm

Came across this strange ad in my local classifieds.

"Hi, I'm ******, I want to share what I learnt and practice so I won't forget. I offer classes only $5.00. Good quality and good for both my students and me. My teacher has a (***** background and had had classes with ******) I am an intermediate student. If you want to have fun, learn and why not be a apart of a troup for further presentations. Join me. I don't do it for the money, but for the fun and practice."

I have removed some info to protect their privacy.

I can't help feeling this is wrong. If not in it for the money then why charge at all? If you charge for a lesson then does that bring up insurance issues? I wonder if their teacher knows about it, would she care? It seems a strange thing to do, to charge someone to practice with you...

Any opinions?

Post Thanks / Like

Definitely dodgy. She's essentially advertising herself as a teacher, whilst trying to pretend that that's not what she's doing. And indeed, presumably undercutting (not sure what $5 comes to in £ but I'm pretty sure it'd be less than £5, which would already be cheap here), probably justifying it to herself by thinking she shouldn't charge more because she's not a proper teacher. When in fact, she shouldn't be teaching at all if she's not a proper teacher.

If she wants other dancers of her own level to practise with, she should be asking for that, not for students. And she shouldn't be charging them (though splitting a room hire fee is fair enough). It would make a lot more sense for her to ask the other students in her class if they want to meet up outside of class to practise than to place a classified ad.

I imagine that this person's teacher would not be thrilled if she knew about this!