Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Repeating a class

I hope you don't mind me asking another question of the teachers here, but for those of you who do teach, how do you feel about a student who had been with you for some months re-taking the beginner's session once more?

I ask this because I've been studying with my teacher for about 9 months or so, and have decided to go back to the basics to work on my technique, and joining the intermediate class afterwards for choreo and props. (I'm also taking the basics once more because I talked a friend into coming with me, and it would be wrong to abandon her/make her suffer in the intermediate class) My teacher has me down on her intemediate class list.

So. Am I committing a major BD faux-pas by taking both classes, or is it perfectly acceptible to do so? Do you encourage your students to re-take a class? Do you segregate your classes so that the newbies aren't intimidated, or add extra steps for those repeating?

So many questions......

Post Thanks / Like

Hi there home girl !!! (i was born at Melbourne)

Well I just wish some of my students do what you are doing.
    I think its great and you can only benefit from it !!!

Even when needed i feel wierd telling them to take again the first level.
    This because you never know what students will think and some believe they are great when they are not. So when you tell them to go back for a re-do, they think you say this for the money etc.

Good for you for doing this, for your friend, but also with re-doing the first teqnicks you will feel more confortable and this time understanding better whats going under the teqnics.

Maria Aya

Post Thanks / Like