Blending various forms of tribal to create your personal vision of ITS, unethical?

ana_bat

**First, I hope this is posted here appropriately as I my question revolves around an issue of training and learning**

Lately I've had this issue nagging at the back of my mind and I would greatly appreciate some perspective as I don't have many people I can ask about this in real life.

Recently I left a tribal group where I was a serious student and troupe member for some years. I've now decided to seriously study and pursue forms of non-FCBD tribal and belly dance in general. Personally I find it hard and limiting to pick one teacher and their style and commit to teaching it/ performing it strictly.

I've thought about learning from my two favorite dancers who offer their various levels of certification and teacher training and combining what aspects I like from each, respectfully, and perhaps add some of my own movements down the line. I wouldn't go around saying "oh I made all of this up, this is purely my creation," but rather cite my sources and give credit where credit is due. My former teacher who I have immense respect for and brought this up to, said this sounded like it could be unethical. She told me that what I have envisioned would be rude unless I asked for permission specifically from the teachers who I receive certification from.