super tight hips

Ahava_Melantha

I know I have chronically tight hamstrings, which I'm working on right now.

But now I have super tight hips muscles, on the front of the hips and the side.

any ideas on how to alleviate this? they are sooo tight and stubborn. it seems like nothing can get them to loosen up.

and fyi - I can NOT afford a full body massage at this time.

Farasha Hanem

:/ I'm no expert, but are you doing anything repetitive (either in practice or everyday life, such as physical labor) that might be causing or aggravating your problem?

Zorba

"The Veiled Male"
Try being a male! It took me several years to get my hips to loosen up enough to do certain movements - just keep trying, you'll get there eventually! Yoga can help quite a bit too.

Darshiva

Also, do not discount the possibility that you are just built that way. Befor engaging in any activities to open or stretch the hips, please see a doctor to make sure you won't actively harm yourself by doing so. Dislocated hips are hella painful.

Ahava_Melantha

well when I had knee surgery they told me my hips might compensate and get kinda tight. And for months before that, I couldn't exercise and was in the chair a lot. I sit in a chair a lot anyways.

And also I don't think tight painful hips is normal for anyone. and yes I'm doing yoga more which is helping me a lot.

Kashmir

You can stretch the hip flexor (running on the front) this way - if you have reasonable knees (you can kneel on cushion). After a cv warm-up (of course) kneel on one knee with the other leg in front (thigh horizontal and calf vertical) and pelvis in neutral. Gently push pelvis forward; hold and breath. Repeat. Do both sides.

The side tightness may be ITB - which is white tissue and pretty much set by genetics. And if it is bony there is also nothing you can do.

~Diana~

AFK Moderator