Greetings from Kentucky

TreTre

Hi everyone! I am an EXTREME novice at belly dance (maybe six classes in?), but I do believe I have become addicted. I've lurked here a few days to find answers to a few questions, so I felt I owed y'all the courtesy of an introduction.

I come to dance from a music background. I am a multi-instrumentalist in a variety of styles--years ago, in fact, I contributed darbuka and guitar to a few belly dance performances--and perform and record my own oddball pop tunes. Of course, I'm also a huge record nerd, and I love everything from Andalusian psychedelic rock to Detroit techno to Van Halen to Debussy... if it's groovy, I'm on board.

I've always loved belly dance--the subtlety, the intricacy, the rhythm--and only recently decided it is something I should try out. It has been a challenge, as I've never thought much about movement beyond the fingers and wrists, but, as I said before, I LOVE it! I had the past week off of work, and found myself spending hours drilling moves to whatever popped up on Spotify (sadly shirking a number of home improvement projects).

I'm excited to see the community here; this is an overwhelming knowledge base (and I'm pleased to see that male dancers are nowhere near as rare as I'd anticipated). I look forward to talking with you all!

Trevor

Last edited:

Shanazel

Welcome, Trevor! How cool to meet a baby dancer who is also an instrumentalist. Hope you'll stick around and contribute lots of stuff.

Zorba

"The Veiled Male"
Welcome aboard. My family is from Kentucky. You'll probably find Zills easy enough to play - I did. Now dancing while playing them was an entirely different story!

TreTre

Welcome aboard. My family is from Kentucky.

Very cool! Whereabouts? I frequently find myself defending my decision to stay here, but I do really love this state.

You'll probably find Zills easy enough to play - I did. Now dancing while playing them was an entirely different story!