Belly Dancing Animations and Art

Kracko

Hello all. I'm new to this forum and I've made it known that I am an animator/artist that has been a big fanatic of belly dancing. I'd like to post this thread for posting belly dance related artwork. Anyone can post here in case anyone wants to contribute their artwork as well. We can also have discussions and feedback on the artwork posted as well.

I'll start it off with a little animation I did today. I was fascinated with a motion called the "hip drop" move and I wanted to animate the motion of it but it sort of turned into a hip shimmy (if that is the correct terminology)

I would totally appreciate feedback on this motion! Constructive criticism is always welcome!!

I might attempt making other animated belly dance movements as well. Feel free to suggest something I could possibly tackle. I always like a challenge :D

Last edited:

Shanazel

Okay, you're new here and maybe you really don't know any better so I'm going to try and explain the situation nicely.

If you had any idea how long and hard we've had to fight against the image of belly dancers as impetus for male fantasy you wouldn't come around here posting barely dressed elves for us to comment on. Put some decent costumes on your characters and then we'll talk about the animated movements.

Kracko

Put some decent costumes on your characters and then we'll talk about the animated movements.

I apologize for the offense. As an animator it's important to have an audience understand the movement of a characters' anatomy and I thought it would be much easier to visually understand my work with that model as opposed to having a character that didn't visually show enough anatomy to understand the motion.

Here is a different model with the same animation applied to it. I hope it can be a much more decent representation.

http://sta.sh/0d74pm09wtd

Morgana Hip Drop.jpg

Daimona

Hi there.