Exaggerating your "experience"

Amanda (was Aziyade)

I was contacted by an organization about two hours away from me to see if I wanted to come over and dance at their event. It's way out in the country, and I'm not really interested in driving that far, so I was googling cities around that city to see if any of my bellydance pals were teaching there.

Googling a city about 30 min from me, I'm surprised to find STUDENT X is now advertising that she's teaching adult ed classes at a college. I'm more surprised to read her bio and see that she "has been studying Turkish, Egyptian, cabaret and folk style dancing for more than five years."

Saying she has been studying this for more than five years is a HUGE exaggeration. An acquaintance of mine only started teaching there about 3-4 years ago, and that was on a semi-monthly basis.

I bought my first Alexandra King video in 1991. Can I say I've been studying since 1991???

Whatever. Anyway, what really confused me was that she's been studying Turkish.

Um, where exactly? I go to EVERY event in the Midwest that focuses on Turkish folk dance and bellydance. I've had workshops with Eva, Artie, and Ahmet. And I've NEVER seen STUDENT X in the crowd. I do know she went to one workshop with an Am Cab dancer who claims she dances Turkish (I don't see it, but whatever.) Same with Egyptian. Where exactly is she getting this specified training??

This is NOT a big area, geographically. I know (At least I know their faces) practically everyone involved in teaching or performing in this area. I know who goes to Mendocino, who goes to KDI folk dance camp, who goes to Morocco's weeklongs, and who goes out to Cali for Suhaila training.

Now, personally I fly all over the country for training, and I know some others dancers in the midwest who do the same thing. That's my own weirdness. I have never heard of STUDENT X doing so, OR her teacher or former teacher.