Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question about the hip drop kick

When doing the hip drop kick which i think is done sideways?,, is the drop a true drop or is it more of a sideways motion? is it simply performing a hip drop from an angle, or is it a sideways swing of the hip? im puzzled, im studying from a DVD at this point, I plan on taking classes in september but i want to get the most backround i can b4 i go

Post Thanks / Like

Hi there,

hip drop with a 'kick'... I do a plain and simple hip drop. Either right under my ribcage or back and down. Either way, as the hip drop completes the foot comes off the floor, I turn that foot out verrrrry slightly and point my toe. The leg on your working hip is bent at the knee, so as the hip drop completes the foot comes off the floor until the knee straightens. I'd say my foot is only about six inches from the floor.

Post Thanks / Like

I do the same as Salome

Post Thanks / Like

Default hi

i think it is done sideways,its my fave step!!and you can also take it round of course!
    I usually do it sideways yes,and i like to varey the speed too.

hugs and smiles

miss shimmy
    xxxxxxxxxxxx

Post Thanks / Like

I am not sure what you mean by sideways. Do you mean that dancers usually stand so the audience have a view of the side of their body? The seems to be true and that is what I usually do.

Or do you mean the "drop" itself is a sideways hip motion? I learned it as a strait drop with a slight release of the foot. I found it hard at first--mainly because of the balance. Now it feels quite natural and is one of my fall-back improv. moves. I sometimes do the drop-kick rounded to the back with the no kick drop to the front to make a arch or upside down U. But that is just a variation or even a different move. Another dancer taught me a hip-drop-kick with a slight hip twist. That is a nice, fun move, maybe that is what your looking at?