What goes under there?

Andaleeb

Ok, as I mentioned before, I'm new to bellydancing, and I've been searching online for some basic outfit pieces that I can wear to practice at home. I've seen some really beautiful chiffon front-tie tops and harem pants, but many, if not most of them, appear to be see-through. So my question is, what the heck do you wear under there? Are chiffon pants only meant to be worn under a skirt? I could see wearing flesh-colored bra and panties, but then you'd really look naked, so what in the world do you do?

I also saw a lurex top and harem pants set on the We3 Bellydance site, but it appears to be semi-transparent as well (although it's hard to see from the pic they have up). So, I guess I have the same question about this. Also, the lurex material is sparkly, does anyone know if it's "itchy"?

Hi You've raised a very good question? Most of learned by trial and error about foundation garments once we bring home the beautiful glittery costume. Flesh tone underwear is always a sure bet when wearing sheer fabric such as chiffon and some lightweight silks. Another good bet is to wear dance shorts that match the color of your skirt or harem pants, not only are you covered but you have a coordinating appearance, the same applies for for color coordinated bras.
Yasmine

Mouse

I like to wear either a crop top & short/pant set or a leotard (the ones with the powernet midriff can give a nice effect). A unitard would also be a good option if you wanted 'legs' :)

Salome

Administrator