Post Thanks / Like

Default Choreography for children

Hi Group,

I have to come up with a belly dance routine for two 7yo girls to perform. So far they are already coming up with some great ideas on their own. They are not very experienced at all so I will be keeping it simple. I thought I'd post here in case anybody has any advice about what to avoid or what are nice ideas for their age. I've never performed myself so I have no experience with this kind of thing.

Thanks in advance.

Chani

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Chani !!!
    First of all find music/song under 2.30 min.
    Its more than enough for a beginer or kids performance.
    Better to have people amazed than bored, this is my philosophy
    Dont know the teqnicks they have done yet, but i guess the basics?
    Arabic steps, hip drops - hip lifts, hip circles and 8's, shimmie's, belly undulations, turns, slow hand movements, moving in the space?
    In this case, entering the stage can use 15 to 20 sec, and i like the music that have slow and fast parts, this gives different feeling to the dance also.
    Good luck
    Maria Aya

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you very much for your reply Maria Aya,

I agree that shorter is better. You may have seen my post on another thread. Now the mothers are dancing with the girls. First the Mums sitting with the girls dancing around us then we switch. I'm very pleased with this beause the girls only need to dance for half a song and so do we. Good news since most songs are rather long I find.

I agree that a mix of paces makes for a more interesting dance.

We exhausted ourselves listening to music pieces all day yesterday and one would have a nice opening but might be too samey throughout, another will be good but too long (not now perhaps) and yet others just seemed sophisticated rather than energetic and fun. The song is out there and I expect once we find it the dance will come to us.

Thanks for your ideas.

Cheers
    Chani

Post Thanks / Like