Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default "I'm Learning from YouTube" ?????

What is going on?

I'm on several message boards for different things, and I'm increasingly seeing people calling themselves a "bellydancer" and when I ask who they're learning from, what format, etc. they respond with, "I'm learning from YouTube."

WTF???!!!!!

I wish I had a magic stick. I could hit people with it and knock some sense into them.

Did you think you could learn ballet from watching YouTube? How about a martial art?

I realize the transmission of Oriental dance in culture is a little different than a ballet class, but STILL!!!!!

Of course, this explains the myriad videos ON YouTube of people claiming to be bellydancers. Garbage in, garbage out, I suppose...

Post Thanks / Like

Oh! I can't tell you the hope and inspiration this gives me!!

I love the cello and have always wished I started playing it when I was young. Those of you who have visited my youtube playlist may have noticed a number of cello clips interspersed with the Egyptian dancers.

I'm hoping that by spending lots of time watching Maurice Gendron, Yo Yo Ma, and Mischa Maisky enough, that I will be able to one day play cello and be very good. Teacher? Lessons? I don't have time for that, plus I'm naturally musically inclined, and everyone knows that if you're musically inclined you don't really need training. I also don't own a cello, but that can come later, kinda like pelvic posture can be picked up in oriental dance after mastering all the difficult moves.

Sedonia

p.s. O.K. I'll admit it. I only watch Maurice Gendron because he's HOT! What passion!!

Post Thanks / Like

Ohh
    Youtube have been a great help for me also !!!
    Always admired the people that skate and now with all the crazy skateboard video's i've seen in youtube, i'm off to buy my first skateboard and amaze the crowd at the piazza lol

Well all things have good and bad side.