How long have you been belly dancing for and how often do you practice?

Amethist

Hi, I have been belly dancing for 4.5 months, I'm just a beginner! I attend a beginners class once a week and have been practicing at home to Neena and Veena 3 times a week since last week. The dance is so beautiful in everyway, and I would love to reach the advanced level and take part in some performances.

How long have you been belly dancing for and how often do you practice?

Amethist :)

Last edited:

Moon

I've been dancing for almost 2.5 years now and it varies how often I practice. Sometimes quite a lot, and sometimes I only dance once a week (like now :redface:)

Amethist

I've been dancing for almost 2.5 years now and it varies how often I practice. Sometimes quite a lot, and sometimes I only dance once a week (like now :redface:)

In my first term I did not practice at home at all even though the teacher told us to:redface: Now I am more motivated, but I can see how it varies, if I don't do it first thing in the morning before work, it's a lot less likely I will practice in the evening.

Moon

I usually practice in the evening when I practice. I practiced a lot 2 years ago when my heating system didn't work and dancing was the only way to stay warm, lol! Didn't practice at all during the summer of 2006 because it was so hot.

Hi Amethist, I've been dancing for 6 years now and boy when I look back on it, I've packed a whole lot of dancing into those years! I practice about 4 times a week and this includes preparation for the classes I teach. When I'm not actively practicing dance(this may include zill drills, balancing, musical interpretation etc),I'm also exercising to support and maintain the stamina, flexibility and strength that the dance requires.
Good question!
Yasmine

Amethist