Belly dance on a budget

Porcelaine

I've loved the dance from afar for a number of years, but it was only last year I was able to begin learning it. Now that I've started, I want to make belly dancing a larger part of my life - one hour a week just isn't enough! The problem is, I'm a college student, therefore by definition, I'm constantly scant on cash. I can't afford to take more classes or attend all the fantastic Chicago workshops available to me (in theory if not in reality). It's a dream of mine to someday perform in a troupe, but is there any way I can pursue that when I have to plan ahead just to buy a veil for the one class I'm already taking?

A little help from the more experienced and/or crafty of you elegant dancers?

Reen.Blom

Welcome Porcelaine to the forums!

Consider investing in a DVD for practice at home after classes to polish the moves and gain muscule strength! (that's what I do)

At the moment I am busy crocheting a hip scarf, cos I cant afford buying one, and besides the cheaper ones tend to fall apart really quickly!

I got 2 nice veils and a skirt at a second hand store check those out if you have any in your area. Also check sales for fabrics- I stitched the edges of the veils shut by hand- put on a light sequin thread - made it look really nice!

Also I stitched coins on a sports top and it is so much more fun to preactice in!

YouTube is full of inspiration and this forum is worth researching about styles techniques and just sharing latest belly gossip!

Good luck and hope to see more posts from you!

Love and hugs,
reen.blom

Eshta

Buy/learn fewer props, make sure you have good quality music to listen to so you can train your ear, and rather than spending your money, spend your time practicing and drilling.

Also, share with your fellow students.

And don't get carried away with hip scarves, they are twinkly pieces of temptation sent to seduce us (and it works :))