Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default email from my teacher

Some of you may know about my dealings with my first teacher who only passed 2 students from her beginners to "advanced" class out of 20.

6 months later when teacher 2 is temporarily off the scene I went to ask if I could now join "advanced" class. I said I could fit in with other intermediate classes I had been to and this indescribable look came over her face, and she said "I don't think so" I said "I'm not a beginner!" and she replied "Well I think you are". Although I knew she hadn't seen me dance for 6 months, I still took this hard as a blow to my confidence.
    Actually I am currently in someone else's beginner class, mainly because the style she teaches is too athletic for my knees. I am receiving appropriate help. THIS teacher has eyes in the back of her head and constantly gives feedback both critical and praise.
    Anyway back to subject. I emailed Teacher 2 about private classes and she replied recommending a RBrice dvd for practice exercises saying "They are challenging but I think you have the ability to have a go at this level. Practicing to this intensity will really start you off in good stead to advanced level, and then when I see you for private classes I can help with what you find difficult and to hone your skills."
    I am so pleased. I knew in my heart that I could be good, but it is so difficult when the local scene is so small. additional difficulty is that I really want to dance egyptian. the first teacher is the only egyptian style dancer in this town, but I really don't rate her teaching style. I have a friend in Advanced who says it is just as bad there, so I will eventually have a problem in development.
    But for the moment

Post Thanks / Like

Hang in there Jenc, a few months ago I thought my belly dance days had come to an end, as there was only one teacher in my city and I had so many problems with her...