Post Thanks / Like

Default What do I do with my arms?

Can you tell from the title that I'm a beginner? *grin*

I've been dancing for about nine months now at The Cassandra School. The teachers and environment are amazing, but I'm... impatient. *chuckle* A lot of the instruction has been focused on the lower body, and rightfully so, but I can't help but feel that I'd look a lot better doing the hip moves if I knew a few more arm postures and movements to pair with them!

I watched a copy of Rachel Brice's Arms and Posture video, but it seemed more focused on "Tribal Fusion" style, and what I'm learning is "Cabaret" so it didn't feel completely appropriate. I'm sure it's a great workout, but I don't want to confuse myself with different styles this early into my dancing.

Does anyone have any suggestions of arm postures/movements? I know snake arms, but I can't use that for everything! Any links to photographs showing posture, videos that have great examples, etc. etc. will be appreciated!

(Sorry if this is posted under the wrong forum category, I'm new!)

Post Thanks / Like

Sahra Kent has a video out called "Arms and Torso", which is upper body centric. I bought a used copy a while back but I haven't had a chance to watch it yet, but I'm confident its good. She's an excellent Egyptian style dancer.

You might want to invest in a private lesson or two with Cassandra or whoever your teacher is, just to work on arms and upper body and make sure they keep up with your hips.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome! Sounds like you are in good hands with Cassandra's school.