Newly relocated to Southern Washington....

Amira_116

Hi everyone!

I've been sticking to local forums, and decided to expand my horizons so to speak.

I've been dancing about 30 years, starting in California where I studied with Angelika Nemeth, Beata Zadou, Shareen el Safy. When I moved to Northern California I studied at the Salimpour School of Dance, then joined Suhaila's Dance Company. I've also studied with Rachel Brice extensively, as well as other fabulous dancers - I've been really lucky that way. I'm not a 'natural dancer' in that I have to really WORK to be any good, so learning from the best has helped a lot.

I've just moved from California to Southern Washington - Vancouver area - and am completely at a loss in my life. I gave up a good-paying job, students, a business and decades worth of contacts in the area to move north with the hubby.

The very first time I was to perform up here since the move, which was last Saturday, I got through my intro section, turned to go into the fast part, and heard the weirdest POP in my leg. Yep, I tore a tendon! So now I am using my dance cane to actually WALK!!! Never thought I'd get to that point even if I'm not a spring chicken any more :)

I'd love to connect with dancers in the area, but I'm happy just to have folks to talk dance with!

Hey, does anyone out there speak Egyptian? I've been learning a while and would love someone to practice with too.

Let's see...what else? Oh, I design and make costumes, I do solo and troupe choreographies, I've been a troupe director for a gazillion years, and I love animals, especially cats and camels :) I've been to Egypt twice so far and hope to go again this winter.

I really hope to make some friends on the board here. And now, I'd better go feed the cats before they beat me up!

It's great to be here.

Jana "Amira"
Essence of Egypt Dance Company/Enchantment Unlimited Entertainment
www. howtobellydance.com

Lotus Dancer

Hello and Welcome,
Congratulations on your move.