Thread: Hello Everyone!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hello Everyone!

Hello,
    My name is Rie and I have reading here for a while and decided to join this morning because everyone seems so very nice! I am an absolute beginner when it it comes to Oriental dance, though I have been dancing my own cultures dances for my entire life (I am Native American). I also studied Ballet for 10 years, along with Tap, Jazz and Modern Dance. I am a Martial Arts instructor as well, but dancing is really my first love. Everyone in my family starts dancing as soon as they can walk.
    I first became interested in Oriental dance when my mother started taking classes in the DC area several years ago and was teaching me some of the basics. When she passed away in January of 2006, it was too much of a reminder of her for me to try to continue with it until recently. In the last month or so, I picked up BD again, mostly as a new way to keep myself in shape, but also because my mother so loved it and it now makes me feel connected to her. Where I live, the only classes I have been able to find in my immediate area are through the parks and recreation programs, so I have been working with videos (LOTS of videos) and Fit TVs' series "Shimmy". If I can find classes somewhere close (within 2 hours drive) I would love to take real classes, so if anyone can help me make a connection with a teacher in Virginia or DC, please help. In the meantime, I will probably be asking a million questions!
    Oh yeah-I also have my own on-line store selling cosmetics if anyone is interested. The URL is in my profile.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey, welcome!

Sounds like with your dance background, you'll be learning fast and making a splash.

For classes, try the directory at Shira.net - there are tons of listings there. You might also start another post here with that in the title, as that might get more response for you. I know there are several great dancers in your area but don't know who's teaching.