Post Thanks / Like

Default Tightness in Shoulders

Since I'm new here, first some background to help you see where I'm coming from as a dancer.

I studied ballet as a child, jazz and modern as a teen, yoga in my early twenties, and then after a brief love affair with jogging and spinning during my mid-twenties that went against everything I learned in dance and yoga that if it doesn't feel good, don't do it, I stopped working out regularly. Over the past several years I've focused on my job and social life instead of my health, so I've lost touch with my body, but now that I'm in my early thirties and starting to see and feel the aging process begin and the fat accumulate, I know I have to live a more balanced life and take care of my body. Belly dance seems to be the perfect fit for me for both health and personal reasons. I'm very new to this dance form and have been learning on my own. Unfortunately, working with a teacher isn't an option for me at this present time, so I'm hoping I can get some good advice here until I can get some face to face instruction.

When dancing, practicing yoga, exercising, or doing something where I am 100% focused on my body, I have good posture. However, I have fairly large and heavy breasts, so when I'm not thinking about it, I tend to slouch. The weight of my chest pulls my shoulders forward. My shoulders are very rounded, as a result. Carrying myself like this for so long has caused a lot of tightness in my shoulders, upper back, and upper arms, even when I have good posture.

Upper body moves that originate from the core like rib shifting and undulations don't give me any problems, but moves that originate from the shoulders or upper back do. I know it's because of the tightness.

Two very simple things, a shoulder shimmy and a snake arm, are a challenge to me.