Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Idea Hip opening exercises

Hi, greetings to all. I am a novice when it comes to belly dancing. Does anyone know any exercises or drill that I can practise to open my hips? I do not attend a school, and often practise with DVD's e.g Neon. Can anyone give me any advise?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Nym View Post
    Hi, greetings to all. I am a novice when it comes to belly dancing. Does anyone know any exercises or drill that I can practise to open my hips? I do not attend a school, and often practise with DVD's e.g Neon. Can anyone give me any advise?
    Hey Nym
    glad to see you finally posting on the forum.
    you will find a wealth of info here and great advice.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kayshier View Post
    Hey Nym
    glad to see you finally posting on the forum.
    you will find a wealth of info here and great advice.
    That you will - welcome!! Most of my real dance education has come from the wonderful experienced folks who share their expertise here - stick around and you'll find alot of answers here that will make you start asking questions.

Do you know anyone who does yoga? I know there are some yoga poses that open the hips, but i wouldn't be able to explain them to you.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi there are many Yoga poses that not only open your hips but stimulate other parts of your body. Here's are some sites that offers animated poses:
    Beliefs, Religion, Psychology of Beliefs, The Power of Beliefs, Yoga Beliefs, Free Online Animated Yoga
    DeZeClothing.com - "Bringing You Both Fashion And Fitness"

My favorites:
    Pigeon Pose
    Frog Pose
    Warrior I and II
    Three legged Downward Dog
    Lotus