Post Thanks / Like

Default Hi from Jakarta, Indonesia!

Hi, everyone!

Greetings from Jakarta, Indonesia!

I'm a male baby bellydancer, just began learning what I assumed was American Oriental style dance in July 2007. I might say that I've mixed feelings for this. Yes, I learned a lot in terms of isolations and pops and locks (although after several months of lurking through this site, I am assuming that isolations, pops and locks are not very much Egyptian style belly dance).

My real exposure to Egyptian style belly dance was during my travel to Greece (August 2008) when I got the chance to being taught by Ms. Maria Aya for about 8 hours. I've said this and I'm going to say this often: I got more than what I thought I would and the 8 hour lesson was not only about belly dance and dance in general, but also about life (Ms. Maria Aya, this is a long overdue thanks and shout out in this great forum!).

I am currently studying Egyptian style belly dance from Bellydance Jakarta, to learn correct postures and unlearn things. It is kind of an honor for me to be the first male student there. For now, I think I am very much interested in doing Am-Cab style and Tribal fusion style, while continuing to learn and gain knowledge of belly dance and the subdances that emerge from it.

Phew, that's a long hello and introduction.

Happy weekend, everyone!

Yuska

Post Thanks / Like

Awww welcome !!!!
    THIS is a fantastic forum

And thank you for all the sweet words.
    You can visit the male bellydance subforum for many info about the malebellydancers, costuming etc

kissesssssssssssssssss

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Yuska,
    Welcome to the forum. Sounds like bellydancing has taken off in Jkt. I lived there for a number of years in the 90s and sadly there was no BD there at the time. Wish there had been We moved to Bali in 2000.