Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up At last - review of Zanbaka's book!

Bellydance for the Versatile Dancer – Volume I: Foundations, by Zanbaka

I was lucky enough to win this book in the Pick a Card game here a few months back, and I promised to report back. So here goes.

First my disclaimer: I’ve been learning Egyptian style for about 5 years now. From what I’ve seen there are teachers out there who would probably disagree with some of the things in this book (ah well, that’s belly dance) and I don’t know much about the tribal/fusion side. On one level I don’t feel qualified to judge a teacher…

But on another, as a student and belly dance obsessive – I LOVE THIS BOOK! Obviously no one is going to learn to dance just from a book, but as a study guide to complement what you are learning from a live teacher or even DVD, I think Zanbaka has done a fantastic job. There are lots of annotated pictures, user-friendly descriptions of muscle groups, practise sequences with simple to understand notation, and none of those ambiguous names for particular moves that make you go “huh?” All of which made it very easy to tie it in to my own experience; the focus on solid foundations will make it just as relevant to students of a wide range of styles.

There’s also plenty of all the stuff that teachers should tell you about, like the various dance styles, music, safety, approaches to learning… that for reasons of time, interest of students or (shhhh…) knowledge (ooh, I said it!) can be missing from some belly dance classes. It’s written in an easily readable style, and focuses squarely on the dance rather than finding your inner mystic goddess, fat burning, or empowering yourself (even if these are recognised side effects ).

So, thoroughly recommended. I would be rushing out to get Volume 2 if it wasn’t for the fact that I know there is plenty in Volume 1 to keep me busy (must DO the practice, rather than sit on sofa reading about it while eating Turkish Delight).