Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default How long to shimmy?

How long did it take you to learn a controlled shimmy?
    I've been working at it for 2 months and all I can do is shake my entire body in a haphazard fashion. Anyone have tips?

Post Thanks / Like

make sure to do it to music. that way you have a beat to follow.

Post Thanks / Like

Make sure you are doing the correct movements slowly, in time with the music. Practice loads in double time to build up stamina and make sure you are moving rythmically before speeding up again.

Ensuring that your shimmy reaches the right bits is also very much down to posture. If you don't have a teacher - please don't learn to shimmy before lerning other moves properly.

Likewise, if you have just started with a teacher don't try to run on too fast at home before you are shown how to stand and move correctly

Post Thanks / Like

make sure you have the correct posture.
    make sure you have that pressure distributed correctly so that when it's released you get that shimmy.
    relax!!!!! enjoy!!!be liberated
    I once saw a performance once that ws entirely of shimmying..magic
    but it isn't everyone's favourite move to do..it comes easier to some than others. Leyla Jouvana has a very helpful DVD.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BexterK View Post
    I've been working at it for 2 months and all I can do is shake my entire body in a haphazard fashion. Anyone have tips?

Try standing in a open doorway and put your hands up on the door jamb to help keep them quiet.

Or practice with a friend and hold each others hands to help each other.

this is common with beginners, and practice will help.

Marya

Post Thanks / Like

How have you been practicing? Sometimes the method of practice makes a difference.