Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Teaching my bf to b'dance...

Hi all.
    It’s time again for me to ask a question I think I’ve actually asked in the past. But I raise the topic again because, once again the issue has risen.

My bf wants me to teach him to b’dance. But I’m a trained dancer. NOT a trained dance teacher. And it’s been 8 years since I’ve been a beginner, plus the difference in gender and muscular structure.
    So I am concerned that if I teach incorrectly, that I may injure him unintentionally.

My teacher wont teach men, …unless they’re gay.

So help me out please.
    Remind me how to safely break down movements appropriate for males and for someone with no b’dance training.

Thanks.

Fire Lilly.

Post Thanks / Like

I can't tell you *HOW* to teach - but I can tell you *WHAT* to teach. Teach him just like you would anyone else.

These articles may help:

Male Student, Now What?

Getting Started

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Fire Lily View Post
    My teacher wont teach men, …unless they’re gay.
    You have got to be kidding!!!!!!!! She never seen Gintaraus?

But as Zorba says, until you get into male specific folkloric - show him all the normal things. Start small - say one move a week. Start safe - avoid undulations and vertical eights until he has his body under control. I'd probably start with a nice simple hip rock.

V.I.P.
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Fire Lily View Post

So help me out please.
    Remind me how to safely break down movements appropriate for males and for someone with no b’dance training.